Like a Child

Yesterday I helped out in my church’s Kid X areas (aka children’s church). I haven’t worked there much lately but I used to help out all the time. I didn’t realize how much I missed it. It’ s interesting, I watched the kids as they praised and worshiped with such joy, they jumped up and down, did the hand motions and sang with all their might.  I could tell that they didn’t care what the other kids thought. Whereas in my youth group (Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my church and my youth group) I see teens just standing around with their hands in their pockets and talking during praise and worship . No not everyone is like that, there are the unusual ones who get into the praise and worship. Now I’m not saying that God can’t reach out to you if you have your hands in your pockets, but you do see the difference. I suppose this is what Jesus meant when he said , “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:3-4).

So how then do we become like children (coming from the fourteen year old)? Pray to God daily to help us to not care what others think,” For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” (Galatians 1:10) I believe that this is one of the many ways to become like a child. I mean, ultimately we answer to God, and God alone.

 

Leave a Reply

