Ponderings

I’m starting to prepare myself to start back to school, in twenty two days to be exact. I’ll be a sophomore in High School this year.  In preparing for this year, I’m thinking back on last year, and I don’t think this is uncommon for freshmen to say, but ninth grade was hard. Not only was it academically difficult, it is also socially and mentally hard. It’s a year of finding a balance within one’s life. I had a steady job, homework, and friends to juggle and it was a challenge. I don’t think I handled it as well as I could have. Instead of turning to God with my struggles I just stressed about everything and let it get the best of me. But even though I wasn’t giving God the time that he deserves, he was still gracious with me, he treated me so mercifully. I was having trouble making friends at the place that I was taking classes, and did have really  any friends the entire first semester (and the friends that I did have, our class schedules were opposite and so we would always miss each other), and not only am I introverted, teenagers can just be rude. But at the beginning of the spring semester, God gave me one good friend. We had enough in common to hit is off, and he was extremely intelligent so we had some deep conversations that caused  me to dig deeper in my faith. God knew exactly what I needed, and he gave it to me.

So my point in sharing all of this, to all going into the ninth grade, do not lose perspective. Keep your eyes on Jesus. Don’t give in to the drama and gossip that High School can bring. You are better than that.

I’ll end this post with this, God isn’t going to give you anything that you can’t handle (check out 1 Corinthians 10:13), and will walk with you through it. Also, we serve a merciful God (Lamentations 3:22-23) he will never give up on you, and will always love you. One more thing to keep in mind,  “therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the spirit.” Romans 8:1

So, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1-2

2 thoughts on “Ponderings

Leave a Reply

