Reflections

 Happy New Year everyone!At the strike of midnight, with a roar of fireworks 2015 came to a close. I sat on my  bed last night, journaling, reminiscing and reflecting, waiting for the year to end.  I began to think on what God had taught me this past year and I decided that I would like to share with you the top 5. I realize that much of it will sound rather cliche but what you read is me speaking from my heart with honesty.

  1. There is truly no condemnation for those who are in Christ (Romans 8:1). God is a forgiving and loving father who keeps no record of our wrong (Corinthians 13:5) and he has cast our sins as far as the east is from the west (Psalm 103:12). His arms are always wide open ready for us to return to him.
  2. God’s love for people cannot be fathomed.  I wrote in a previous post about my experience at Camp Blessing Texas, but to summarize what I learned that week was this: God is so in love with his creation, especially his children. I experienced God’s love in a way that I never thought possible, I went to CBTX in many ways empty exspecting to pour myself into these campers lives, but they ended up teaching me more than I could ever guessed and I came away from it overflowing and bursting with joy from God’s love.
  3. I can do nothing without Christ. God showed me this year than I need to rely on him and his strength. Especially this summer I found myself physically and emotionally drained. But in Christ I found the rest and strength that I needed to get through every situation.
  4. God answered my prayers in ways that I never would have expected. For those of you who do not know this, almost three years ago I moved and ended up being about 45 minutes away from many of my closest friends. This was hard. But I quickly joined a strings ensemble and fell in love with my violin, this distracted me from much of the strain that moving can put on you. However, a few months after joining the ensemble I developed tendinitis in my right arm. For awhile, I pushed through but within  a year I could barely play or move my right arm. I was frustrated, disappointed, and borderline depressed. I did physical therapy and took anti-inflammatories and my arm  improved but it never fully healed. Fast forward two years; I was still upset and didn’t understand why God hadn’t answered my prayers and healed me. I progressivly  grew more and more discouraged. It didn’t make sense why something that I treasured so much would be snatched away from me. Well, Summer of 2015 hits and I found myself thinking less and less about my injury. But where would I have found the time to anyway? A week at Jubilee ranch, a week at Camp Blessing, a week in Garner Texas and all the moments in between. To be honest, I really had not thought much about my arm since early June, that is  util last night when I was talking about it with a good friend.                                     “For me this was the year of friendship.” I told Hannah. “It’s interesting, for the past two years music was my life I suppose because I hardly ever saw any of my friends. It’s still important to me but not like it used to be. The fact that my arm is injured really doesn’t matter anymore.”  Then I sighed, allowing my heart to swell with all the memories I had made with so many of my friends.     Then Hannah said  “Amy, don’t you see?  You asked God to heal you, and he did. He gave you friends to come along side you to support and love you. He showed you that there was more to life than music” That’s when it hit me and I wanted to cry. She was completely right. God gave me exactly what I needed right when I needed it. He filled my heart with love for people and this allowed me to not dwell so much on what was wrong with me and my problems.
  5. Last, God has shown me that I happy right where I am. For a while I wished that I would grow up faster so that I could: Get my drivers license, buy a car, be done with high school, go to college, start my career and the list goes on. But once I saw how fast this year passed I realized that I am happy right where God has me. In this house in the city where there’s ridiculous traffic but some pretty great Tex Mex. I’m grateful for the friends that I have and would not want to trade this time of my life for anything in the world.

So there it is. My year as a whole. Goals for next year? Well here they are.

  • I want to keep God first in everything I do. That is something that I struggle with. When life gets good, I tend to subconsciously  push Christ to the back burner.
  • I want to live life to the fullest. I was placed on this earth for a reason and I want to live everyday as if it were my last, giving all glory to God and serving him in everything I do.

2016, here I come and I’m expecting great things.

Revelation 21:5
 And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

  

Leave a Reply

