Taken for Granted

There’s so much in this life that we take for granted. Friendships, health, and the many blessing and trials this life brings that ultimately shape us into who we are.

One of my good friends, that I’ve gotten the pleasure of getting to know for this past year is moving to a different state next month and I am realizing just how much I have taken her friendship for granted. She is so different from all of my friends, yet so incredibly special to me. She has a down to earth personality but a great sense of humor. She brings out the inner nerd and writer in me. I’m going to miss her dreadfully, but am thanking the good Lord for the internet and handwritten letters, because of those we won’t really be parting.

This past year God has brought many people into my life, even if some of them were only present for a short season. He used each of them to help guide and teach me through one experience or another. Some of those people, sadly, I don’t think will ever understand just how much they mean to me. God has been showing me recently just how fully exciting and beautiful this life is that we’ve been handed. Although we’re looking at the world through a pair of seemingly shattered glasses, it’s our Father in Heaven who works  all things for the better whether we know it or not. Taking those shattered pieces and turning them into a beautiful masterpiece. It’s like this “Because we’re cracked and broken, God’s light shines even brighter through us.” (Author unknown)

So yeah, I’m learning. Every day my journey continues and I’m realizing that the more I acknowledge and invite Christ into my daily life, the more he works and shows me just how marvelous and loving his heart is for us.

Don’t take anything for granted dear friends, much of this life is here today and gone tomorrow.

Peace out guys!

1 Peter 4:7-11

The end of all things is near. Therefore be alert and of sober mind so that you may pray. Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.  Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.  Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

